Fire, Blood, and… Cupcakes?

Hello, world! June 26, 2016 will be a day for the books. Not only is this the one year anniversary of the legalization of gay marriage in the U.S., but- for all of us Throners- it’s finale day!

Season 6 has been the best yet in my opinion, chock-full of fan service and female power. Of course, one bad@$$ Westerosi woman showed us that we could shatter (or burn) the patriarchy before it was cool… The Mother of Dragons!

It wasn’t enough for me to hang a Targaryen banner above my bed or grab my Daenerys keychain, so I decided to combine my GoT obsession and my love of baking to ring in the finale. So, lo and behold, Targaryen cupcakes!!

FullSizeRender.jpg

To create this edible monument to House Targaryen, I turned to this tutorial from Inn at the Crossroads for creating mini GoT banners and this recipe  from Be Infinite for filled red velvet cupcakes with a chocolate ganache frosting. Of course, I put my own spin on both.

First, I created my own template for the banners using the actual sigil art used in the show:

targaryen

As for the cupcakes, I saved time by using a Duncan Hines boxed mix and swapping organic raspberry jam for the homemade sauce. (Shameful, I know. May the Seven forgive me.) I also added Wilton black icing color to the frosting just before leaving it to harden. Oh, and red cupcake wrappers were an absolute must.

Overall, I’d consider the cupcakes a huge success. To be honest, I’m typically not a cake person, but the semisweet ganache and the tartness of the jam balanced out the richness for me. And what better way to incorporate the Targaryen motto of “fire and blood” than a gooey, bright red filling?

cupcakes 2.jpg

Now, having watched the finale, I’m all the happier with my choice of dessert… but I’ll say no more.

Valar Morghulis, and Happy Finale!

Questions? Comments? Concerns?

